Simple Pleasures

Kelly Burns
3 min readOct 16, 2021

Learning how to be

La Peruse Beach, Sydney Australia. There is seafoam green water surrounding white rocks. It is the edge of the cliff.
La Perouse Beach, Sydney, Australia. Photo by Kelly Burns

I’m still finding my footing here in Australia.

I’ve fallen in love with the Western Corellas. Today I scratched a semi-trained Corella on the head. He seemed to know the word, “Scratch,” and leaned in closer to climb down to my hands from his perch for a relaxing pet on the head.

This is a photo of an Australian Kookaburra bird. The bird is black and white colored with spots on its side. They are known for making wild laughing sounds which resemble a chimpanzee.
(Laughing) Kookaburra, Sydney, Australia. Photo by Kelly Burns

I’ve seen (and heard) the wild and laughing Kookaburras in the yard nearby. I’ve been in the middle of a loud and violent thunderstorm with lightning.

I’ve marveled at the many Street Libraries in New South Wales and I am excited about the books I will soon explore.

This is a photo of a lavender colored Street Library in Sydney, Australia. There are many books inside and the idea is to take a book and leave a book.
Street Library, Sydney, Australia. Photo by Kelly Burns
This is a photo of another Street Library in Sydney, Australia. The box is small about 3 feet by 2 feet. It has multi colors on the outside and it is attractive. The colors are yellow, purple and green.
Street Library 2. Sydney, Australia. Photo by Kelly Burns

I’ve been successfully identified by random Australians as an American in passing for simply saying two words in an elevator:

“Are you from the states?” She asked me.

--

--

Kelly Burns

writer and sometimes singer/composer & painter. Italian-American. INFP. I write fiction and nonfiction. www.kellyburns.com