What I Am Learning

Kelly Burns
3 min readNov 10, 2021

During my first few months in Australia

A girl is working on her laptop with a small backpack and a hard drive attached to her computer.
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

I am learning how to say my birthday backward with the day in front of the month.

I am learning to differentiate between a Koel mating call, a Corella, and a Cockatoo.

I am learning Greek words at home and less Italian than in the past 12 months.

I am learning that being kind goes a long way. Especially here in Australia.

I am learning how to live far apart from the people I have loved all my life.

I am learning to trade my anxiety for adventure and trying to be happy with my choice.

I am learning to trust others and learn from new people even if I am terrified to do that.

I am learning that people are the same everywhere. They love, they fear, they hope, and they worry about the future.

I am doing all I can to contribute to the household I am living in. I feel taken care of and I am trying to take care of others as well.

Apart from all this, there is much uncertainty for the future. I focus on what I can control and on small wins and accomplishing small tasks each day.

I don’t think I will move back to America. But I hope to make extended visits in the future.

--

--

Kelly Burns

writer and sometimes singer/composer & painter. Italian-American. INFP. I write fiction and nonfiction. www.kellyburns.com